Skip to main content

Maison G de Navarre Young Scientist Essay Prize

First awarded in 1988, this prize is awarded during an odd-numbered year to enable a young cosmetic scientist to attend an IFSCC Congress. The 2023 prize will be an invitation to attend the 2023 IFSCC Congress in Barcelona, Spain, with the cost of travel, accommodation and registration fees up to, but not exceeding, 5000 Swiss Francs, being reimbursed by the IFSCC. Any member of a member society of the IFSCC may apply, if they are no more than 35 years of age when they submit their essay (note: this means the Author can be 35 years, 364 days old when they submit their essay).

Applicants should submit an essay of between 500 and 3,000 words on one of four topics chosen below. The winner is determined by Committee, which receives blinded copies of all submitted essays.

Here are the topics for the 2023 prize:

  • How can the beauty industry provide correct information to consumers? (eliminating fake news, avoiding misleading claims, communicating clearly, etc.)
  • What are the consumer’s interests regarding clean and natural?
  • What is the best balance of marketing and innovation in the cosmetic industry?
  • What is the relationship between art and science in beauty?

The applicant enters the competition by emailing a copy of the essay (in english only) and the entry form by Thursday 1 June 2023 to (subject line:  MGdN 2023 submission)– cc’ing the office of the Member Society to which the applicant belongs.

Applicants must be members of good standing in their Society, which in turn must be current in its Federation subscription.

Note that the Award winner must attend the Congress and accept the Prize in person.

The winner of the 2021 IFSCC Maison G de Navarre Young Scientist Essay Prize is Jin Hui Zuo of China (Shanghai Pechoin Daily Chemical Co Ltd). He was presented with his award virtually at the 2021 IFSCC virtual Cancun Conference in 2021. A formal award presentation will be done at the 2022 IFSCC Congress in London.

The winner of the 2019 IFSCC Maison G de Navarre Young Scientist Essay Prize was Yan Liu of China (Shanghai Pechoin Daily Chemical Co Ltd). He was presented with his award at the 2019 IFSCC Conference in Milan.

Here are the most recent winning essays:

2021 Maison G de Navarre Winning Essay – Jin Hui Zuo

2019 Maison G de Navarre Winning Essay – Yan Liu

2017 Maison G de Navarre Winning Essay – Franziska Wandry

2015 Maison G de Navarre Winning Essay – C. Amata

Complete list of Winners:

2021: Jin Hui Zuo, China

2019: Yan Liu, China

2017: Franziska Wandrey, Switzerland

2015: Chaikriangkrai Amata, Japan

2013: Mauricio Guzman Alsonso, Colombia

2011: Pinky Purohit, USA

2009: Adrien Cousy, Australia

2008: not awarded

2007: Muchaneta Mutasa, South Africa

2006: Megan Jones, South Africa

2005: Paola Perugini, Italy

2004: John Jiménez, Colombia

2003: Jong-Won Shim, Korea

2002: Kerryn Greive, Australia

2001: Rosina Pelosi, Australia

2000: Katherine Brasier, Australia

1999: Martin Krause, Germany

1998: Karen Rogers, USA

1997: Andrea Weber, Germany

1996: Matthias Vey, Germany

1995: Annette Bonfert, Germany

1994: Jeanetta du Plessis, South Africa

1993: Michael Adeney, Australia

1992: not awarded

1991: Lan Hester, USA

1990: Antonio Tsi, Spain

1989: Birgit Hofmann, Germany

1988: Janet Castandea, USA

1987: Brian Parker, Ireland