Skip to main content

Henry Maso Award for Young Scientists

The Henry Maso Award is presented at IFSCC Congresses in even-numbered years to the Author of the best paper by a young scientist in an issue of the IFSCC Magazine published in the preceding two years (for the 2024 award specifically, published after the IFSCC 2021 Cancún Conference but before the IFSCC 2023 Barcelona Congress). The author must be not older than 40 years on the date of the paper submission. The winner is awarded a trip to the next IFSCC Congress to accept the Award, with the cost of travel, accommodations and registration fees up to 5000 Swiss Francs being reimbursed by the IFSCC. You can read all winning papers below.

For the 2024 Henry Maso Award all applicants must

  • be a member of an IFSCC-affiliated Society
  • be not older than 40 years on the date of the paper submission to the IFSCC Magazine (can be up to 40 years, 364 days old)
  • not submit the same paper for the 2024 IFSCC Brazil Congress
  • not be the winner of the 2023 Maison G de Navarre Young Scientist Prize

The applicant enters the competition by first submitting a full scientific paper in English on cosmetic or cosmetic related disciplines for publication by the IFSCC Magazine (for Authors in Europe or the Americas:; for Authors in Asia:, indicating that they wish to be considered for the Henry Maso Award.

After submitting the paper for publication to the Editor , the paper and completed entry form should be sent electronically to the IFSCC Science Chair, cc’ing the Secretary General at Note that there is no firm deadline for submission. However, papers should be submitted for publication in the IFSCC Magazine and entry forms submitted by 1 June 2023 to allow sufficient time to be published in 2023. This deadline is earlier than usual because the IFSCC 2023 Barcelona Congress starts earlier than usual: 4 September 2023.

Applicants must submit proof of age.

The 2024 IFSCC Congress will be held in Brazil.

2024 Henry Maso Award application

Previous winners

The Henry Maso Award was first presented in 2011.

The 2022 Henry Maso Award winner, Dr Maxime Lègues of France received his award during the IFSCC 2022 London Congress for his paper The World’s First 3D Bioprinted Immune Skin Model Suitable for Screening Drugs and Ingredients for Normal and Inflamed Skin.

The 2020 Henry Maso Award winner, Dr Lee Ka Heng of Malaysia, received his award scroll in person at the 2022 IFSCC London Congress as both the 2020 IFSCC Yokohama Congress and the 2021 Cancún Congress were held virtually. Dr Heng’s award winner paper is entitled Unveiling new science of skin glycation from molecular characterization to clinical validation.

The 2018 Henry Maso Award winner is Nelly Dubrulle from France for her paper DNA metabarcoding as a tool to trace plants of interest in ingredients or cosmetics. Her trip and registration fees for the 2018 Congress in Munich, Germany (18-21 September 2018) will be covered by the IFSCC and she will be presented with her illuminated scroll during the Congress.

The winner for 2016 was John Jimenez of Bogotá, Colombia. John’s winning paper was the Application of Eye-Tracking Methodology for Fragrance Evaluation. He was presented with his illuminated scroll at the IFSCC 29th Congress held in Orlando, Florida (USA) in October 2016. As the 2016 Henry Maso Award winner, his trip to Orlando and registration fees for the Congress was covered by the IFSCC.

Shuting Hu from the Hong Kong Society won the 2013 Henry Maso Award for her paper Activity and mechanism of natural resorcinol type phenolics from the twigs of Cudrina trieuspidata as skin whitening agents.

The first Henry Maso Award winner (2011) was Theeraya Krisaphong from Thailand for her paper Antimicrobial activity of Garcinia mangostana extract for anti-acne.

2022 Henry Maso winning paper – Maxime Legues

2020 Henry Maso winning paper – Lee Ka Heng

2018 Henry Maso winning paper – Nelly Dubrulle

2016 Henry Maso winning paper – John Jimenez

2013 Henry Maso winning Paper – Shuting Hu

2011 Henry Maso winning Paper – Theeraya Krisaphong