Skip to main content

Coschem remains a strong and valuable society



Last year was another successful one for the South African Society of Cosmetic Chemists, Coschem, something that was highlighted at Coschem’s AGM on 6 February 2020.

The Society plays an increasingly important role in ensuring knowledge and scientific advances are shared with manufacturers and product developers, to help them succeed.

The Coschem Council, supported by its sub-committees, continued with its focus in three strategic areas: education, science and industry networking, to strengthen the Society’s strategic role within the cosmetics and personal care industry.

AGM highlights
Rene Spada (Evonik) handed the presidency over to Kim MacCallum (Vantage Specialty Chemicals). Charmaine du Preez (AECI Specialty Chemicals) was nominated as Vice President. Ivor Zwane (industry consultant) was co-opted as Honorary Secretary. Erica de Kock (Unichem) was nominated as Honorary Treasurer; she was also re-nominated to chair the Natal Chapter. New council nominations for 2020 include Nicola Barnard Marais (Sensient Cosmetic Technologies), Andre Burger (Sun Skin), Beverley Gardner (Skyem Consulting), Aeysha Jakoet (Chempure), Liesl Keulder (Cirebelle) and Anina van der Walt (Acuservices).

Coschem council for 2020
Top left: Wayne van Wyk and Erica de Kock

Top right: Jacques Strydom and Liesl Keulder
Bottom, back row left to right: Andre Burger, Kim MacCallum, Beverley Gardner and Nicola Barnard Marais
Bottom, front row left to right: Ivor Zwane, Charmaine du Preez, Rene Spada, Lumbi Moyo, Ayesha Jakoet, Samantha Pols, Anina van der Walt and Kudzai Gwazira

Honouring the students
A few days before its AGM, on 3 February, Coschem celebrated the students who have completed Modules 1 and 2 of the Coschem Cosmetic Science training. Guests gathered at Blueberry Hill Hotel in Honeydew, Gauteng, South Africa, where the students received their certificates and special awards.

The recipients of the 2019 special awards are:

  • Yanishka Francis – Top Module 1 Student
  • Rone Rudman – P&C Review Essay Prize Winner
  • Emma Emmerich – Top Module 2 Student and Winner of the Jill Gardiner Award
  • Jennifer Rogers – Top Module 2 Project and Winner of the Norman Sanan Award
  • Feisal Jessub – Top Module 2 Presentation and Winner of the Sensient Most Creative Award.

This article was supplied by SA Pharmaceutical & Cosmetic Review.